Skip to content

My Journey Alexia Crunchy Snacks

July 30, 2009
Delicious snack food

Delicious snack food

It’s the commercial we all have seen, but can’t remember.

I can’t remember a more enticing snack commercial than the Alexia Crunchy Snacks commercial with the waffle fry cuts missing from the fresh potatoes.

It was funny, mysterious (you know you were wondering where the Fry cuts went), looked like a delicious product, and seemed healthier than other alternitives.

I saw the commercial the first time and was intrigued.  I saw it a few other times and had to have them.  They just looked too damn good.  So I went to my neighborhood Vons, spent about 10 minutes in the chip isle and had no luck.  I then realized part of the problem was that I couldn’t remember the name of the product.  I remembered what they looked like, but couldn’t remember the name.

I asked a couple people if they knew the name.  Everyone I talked to remembered the product, remembered the commercial, but could not remember the name.  On a recent trip back home to the Bay Area, I asked my father to write down the name of the product if he saw it on TV.  He did, and I found out it was Alexia Crunchy Snacks – JACKPOT!!!.

I made my way to a few other stores with no luck.  As my cravings for waffle fry chips grew I was getting more and more frustrated because I couldn’t find them.

I then had a genius idea: check the internet.

After about 15 minutes of looking I came across their distribution list.  Target, Costco, and Whole Foods were the main retailers.  I was off to the store the next morning!

That was two days ago.  I was so happy to finally have the product.

I have to say, they are delicious.  I got the onion strips and the cheese waffle fry chips.  They are both very good products, and according to the nutrition label, not entirely awful for you.

Here’s my one beef with the product.  The bags are literally 5/6 air.  I don’t think I have ever seen an emptier bag of snack product.  It is a VERY deceiving bag (which isn’t very big in the first place).  As a Gen Yer this bothers me, I feel like it a sort of false advertising.  They are very good though, so I am not nearly as discouraged as I would be (plus it could be a good thing in the long run, a deterrent to over eating).

Here is the main problem for Alexia.  I remember reading years ago about a study on head-lice treatment medicines.  There were two main competitors: Nix and some other brand.  They were the same product, and had the same marketing efforts but Nix had the vast majority of market share for one simple reason. Everyone could remember the brand name Nix.  I mean I remember the brand name and I had head lice when I was 10.  Now that is a strong brand name.

Everyone I would mention the product to knew exactly what I was talking about, but didn’t know two things:

1. The product name

2. Where to buy them

Without knowing these two pieces of information, it is very hard to purchase the product (no matter how bad you want them).  If Alexia did some market research I think they would find that the recognition of the brand Alexia is very low and that it is hurting their sales substantially.  Normally rebrands are risky, but in this case I believe it is very logical.  They would just have to change the name on the bags, commercials and web site.  It’s not like it’s a huge brand which has massive distribution all over the world.  This could be an “easy” rebrand and it would really help their sales.

So remember even if you have a great product; it needs a great name to boot.

Even if they are crunchy and delicious…

Follow Todd on Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/toddliss

One Comment leave one →
  1. Devin permalink*
    August 5, 2009 4:56 pm

    I strongly disagree Todd. I would rather enjoy Ms. Vickie’s Jalapeno chips anytime… But to each their own.

Leave a Reply

